SPCs advise and assist the Council in its work.

While it is the task of each SPC to assist the Council in the formulation and development of policy, the final policy decisions will rest ultimately with the full Council.

The SPC system is intended to give communities an opportunity for full involvement in the policy-making process from the early stages, when policy options are more fluid.

Strategic Policy Committees (SPCs), are made up of representatives from

  • Waterford City & County Council (members and officials)
  • Community & Voluntary Sector
  • Environment Sector
  • Social Inclusion Sector
  • Agriculture Sector

There are 5 SPCs in Waterford City & County Council and the PPN have 3 representatives on each. They meet approx four times a year.

Economic Development & Enterprise

Economic Development & Enterprise SPC PPN Members

NameOrganisationPPN CollegeEmailPhone
Gerty MurphyTallow TóstalCommunity & Voluntarygertymurphy@ymail.com086 152 7234
Samantha RichardsonTramore Allotments AssociationEnvironmenttramoreallotments@gmail.com086 776 6060
VACANCYSocial Inclusion

Housing, Community & Culture

Housing, Community, Culture, Sport & Recreation SPC PPN Members

NameOrganisationPPN CollegeEmailPhone
Rosemary Kennedy Rathgormack Hiking CentreCommunity & Voluntaryrkennedydeise@gmail.com086 832 3605
Michael FarrellIrish Wildlife TrustEnvironmentmikefarrell@gmail.com086 239 2671
Andrea GalgeyNational One Parent Family NetworkSocial Inclusionagalgey@gmail.com086 8429457

Environmental Protection

Environmental Protection SPC PPN Members

NameOrganisationPPN CollegeEmailPhone
Bríd O'HehirCatholic Guides of IrelandCommunity & Voluntarybridohehir@hotmail.com087 931 6316
Peter O'ConnorBat Conservation of IrelandEnvironmentpfiddle@gmail.com086 601 7176
Kate MoloneyHealthy WaterfordSocial Inclusionmoloney.kate@gmail.com087 291 2223

Planning & Corporate

Planning & Corporate SPC PPN Members

NameOrganisationPPN CollegeEmailPhone
John O'DonnellCarrick Beg DevelopmentCommunity & VoluntaryN/A051 640 970
John GallowayCopper Coast GeoparkEnvironmentannestowntoo@eircom.net087 412 6016
Donal LehaneDFBASocial Inclusiondlehanefoodnpd@gmail.com087 678 0014

Transport & Infrastructure

Transportation & Infrastructure SPC PPN Members

NameOrganisationPPN CollegeEmailPhone
James CoughlanKinsalebeg IFACommmunity & Voluntarybettycoughlan88@gmail.com086 825 6481
Alan WalsheBelle Lake TrustEnvironmentalan.walshe2@gmail.com086 206 6879
Garrett WyseTramore Community RadioSocial Inclusiongarrettwyse@gmail.com087 653 6002